Gelatissimo Cafe: A Sweet Treat for My Sweet Tooth

     Located in Serendra, Gelatissimo Cafe is a small haven for sweet lovers like me. It features gelato products that provides an array of flavors which can make our boring day into a happy and sweet one.

- front view of Gelatissimo Cafe in Serendra -

     A lot of questions came into my mind upon entering the cafe but one question stands out from the rest of the pool. What’s the difference between a gelato and an ice cream? If you’ll ask me, I thought they are just the same in looks and flavor. However, I did my own research and here’s what I found out:

      In Italian, Gelato literally means “frozen,” but it’s often translated as “Italian ice cream.” Ice cream is made with mostly cream, which is heated along with sugar and other flavoring ingredients, including sometimes eggs, to form a custard base. Then it is frozen while being churned, with varying amounts of air. The average amount of air in ice cream is 60%. Ice cream is then whipped to increase volume and unify texture. It is ideally served cold and hard. By industry standards, frozen desserts labeled ice cream must have at least 10% milk fat content. Premium and “super premium” brands typically have 12-18% milk fat.

     On the contrary, Gelato is made with mostly milk in its creamy variations (resulting in less milk fat content, usually 4-8%), along with sugar, flavorings and sometimes eggs, with much less air added in (20% average), and then stored at warmer freezing temperatures, generally resulting in denser flavors, bolder colors, and a much softer serving texture. Sorbetti are fruit-based gelato flavors essentially starring crushed fresh fruit, water and sugar.

Source: Ron in Rome

     The first thing that captured my attention was the gelateria’s interior design.  Its walls were adorned by red wallpapers with  big Italian words printed on it. The ceilings as well as the store’s lights and fixtures set up the mood by creating a relaxed and romantic ambiance.  In addition, the way they organize these new and unused gelato cups on one side of the wall kinda form an art that was truly an eye catcher for me. However, there’s no better way to describe the place than what is stated on their website:

Gelatissimo’s branding fully recreates the Florence gelato experience incorporating Italian music, photographs and a romantic Italian experience.

- an Italian experience inside Gelatissimo -

     As soon as we got inside, a display of various fresh sorbets and creamy gelati (plural for gelato) welcomed us upon entering the gelateria . Different flavors of gelato were offered on us to entice our awaiting taste buds. From the classic flavors of mango and chocolate up to its unique flavors such as the Chili Chocolate, surely there is something that will make its customer drool and be gaga over the available frozen, sweet treats. Delizioso! ^__^

- uber gelato treats -

     Since I love chocolates, I decided to try their Chocolate Truffles & Chocolate Almond gelati. They both have the right amount of sweetness which were really my preference when it comes to frozen delights.  Aside from that, the gelati were so creamy and delicious, I can say that it is sinfully yummy! Oh, did I mention that I was craving for almonds too. ^__^

- my 2 flavored cup -

     One flavor that really captured my attention was the Chili Chocolate. I’m not sure how it was made or processed but I can really say that this one got a kick on its own. Out of curiosity and peer pressure (hopefully not!), my friend ordered the Chili Chocolate gelato. She made us try out the flavor and all I can say was “WOAH“.  The first time I put that thing  into my mouth, it tasted like your typical chocolate flavored ice cream. However, after 3-5 seconds, that’s when the story changed. I can definitely taste the zing of the chili as it slowly melts into my mouth. Good thing that the gelato was made out of milk which helped neutralize its hot flavor. I can say that it’s a unique and one-of-a kind experience for me as I have never tasted anything like this before. I wonder if this store will ever try to come up with a wasabi or kimchi flavored gelato as an addition to its line up? Just thinking out loud ^__^ 

- image courtesy of Keropokman -

     After ordering, we decided to stay outside the cafe to enjoy these sumptuous desserts. The heat of the sun was really scorching at that moment as it was already past noon time when we got to the place. Since the gelati were melting quickly, I decided to take a picture of all of our orders together as a photo souvenir of our food trip.

- from left to right: Raspberry & Mocha Sorbet | Chocolate Truffles & Chocolate Almond Gelati | Chocolate Truffles & Chili Chocolate Gelati-

     Before going any further, do you still remember the hungry customer from my previous blog? She now has a second companion. Please meet my friend, the Hungry Hungarian Lady without the Hungarian. We call her that because whenever she orders the Hungry Hungarian Pasta, she either sets aside the hungarian sausage toppings on her plate or just give it away to somebody who is very willing to take it. Having much said and since I have already introduced and provided these two ladies too much exposures, its time for us now to get back to the real story. ^__^

     Going back, the place also offers other products such as sundaes, beverages and shakes. Since I’m not good in memorizing things, I decided to just take pictures of their menu list instead. This way, I’ll be able to check their prices from time to time or at least provide us an idea on how much it would typically cost as the prices indicated in the photos may change without prior notice.

     Overall, the Gelatissimo Cafe is a must try place for those who love sweets or even everyone. For more information about the store locators, please check out their page. Buon appetito! ^__^

3 thoughts on “Gelatissimo Cafe: A Sweet Treat for My Sweet Tooth

Leave a comment