Astronomy Picture of the Day

     From my childhood until I became a young adult, my fascination with the cosmos never left me. It has fascinated me so much that my dream of becoming an astronaut and going into space never left me. Reality check, it may never happen but that never discouraged me to limit myself. So in order for me to somewhat fulfill my dreams, I always visit sites like NASA and  National Geographic as they have  lots of interesting articles and pictures about space. One website that particularly got my interest and attention is APOD or Astronomy Picture of the Day.  It features one astronomical image per day with captions created by astronomers themselves. It also has an archive that contains lots of interesting pictures from asteroids to our neighboring planets, galaxies, nebula and so many others since the APOD team started it in 1995. Talk about so many pictures! Down below are some sample of the actual photos from space which were featured in their website that really captured my interests. For those who wanted to visit the page, please click here .  The site is highly commendable and I’m pretty sure that most of you will agree with me. Before I forget, all photos are credited to the brilliant owners. Enjoy! ^__^

The Far Side of the Moon 
Credit: Apollo 16 CrewNASA

A Landslide on Asteroid Vesta 
Image Credit: NASAJPL-CaltechUCLA, MPS, DLR, IDA

Saturn’s Iapetus: Painted Moon 
Credit: Cassini Imaging TeamSSIJPLESANASA

2 thoughts on “Astronomy Picture of the Day

Leave a Reply

